That which doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

I’ve always believed that sometimes the best way to appreciate a hard-fought gain, whether it be a great job, losing those last, stubborn pounds, or meeting that great person, is to feel a little hurt before it happens.  You’ve heard the expression, “you take the bitter with the sweet,” right?  Well for me, the same thing applies.  You’ll never know what good is until you’ve experienced some bad, so it stands to reason that you’ll better appreciate something you’ve worked hard for it if you’ve had to go through a couple of valleys to get there.  With all the sometimes crushing rejection I’ve had to deal with while looking for work, I know that when that job does come through, when I finally land myself a great position, I’m going to enjoy it even more, because I had to go without for so long.

I’ve also been working hard on losing weight, a battle I’ve been fighting since I was in grammar school.  A couple of weeks ago, I finally dropped below my plateau weight, that one number I could never seem to get past no matter what I did.  I did a happy dance in my bathroom at the sight, because all that hard work finally paid off, so the constantly walking the dog and the drinking my breakfast and the not eating junk food or fast food wasn’t for naught.  I don’t know if I would have felt that way if I hadn’t had to bust my ass to get there.

Tell me what you think!

