Be careful what you wish for.

I think if I suddenly found myself 12 years old again, but with my 32-year-old mind, I probably would enjoy school a lot more than I did the first time around.  As an adult, I know better when people say hurtful or unkind things to me; they’re just simple-minded, useless idiots that I don’t need to worry about.  When I was a kid, I took everything personally, even if I wasn’t supposed to.  I’d be more aware of things I wasn’t aware of the first time, adult cognizance taking over for childish naivete.  On a more humorous note, I’d probably get straight A’s all the way through, since I wouldn’t have to worry about struggling to pass algebra!  With all the knowledge I’ve acquired both in school and since leaving it, classes would be an absolute breeze.  I’d be able to get a scholarship to any college in the country, maybe even Ivy League, and change the entire course of my future.

That being said, being an adult in a room full of 12-year-olds would be much, much harder than those few benefits would suggest.  I wouldn’t be able to make friends.  I remember how hard it was to hang around with my sister and her friends when I was 16.  She was 11, and that’s just a 5 1/2 year age gap.  Can you imagine if it was 20?  I have nothing in common with 7th graders.  I might look line one on the outside, but inside, I’d be their teacher’s age, if not older in some cases.  Things they find fun, like Justin Bieber, hanging out at the mall, and who knows what else, wouldn’t interest me in the slightest.  I’d literally be isolated from all of my peers, far more than I was before.  How about my interactions with adults, like my teachers and parents?  Then there’s all kinds of other questions….would I continue aging?  I mean, my body is 12, but my brain is 32.  Would it continue aging as my body did?  I could be 40 years old and suffering from dementia.  Doctors wouldn’t know what to do to help me.  I’d be trapped in my own skin, the body able, but the mind not so much.  I’d be in hell.  Would I think it was worth it to have gone back to be a kid again?  They say the grass is always greener on the other side, but you sometimes end up discovering that the grass is green, only because it’s been spray-painted that color, not because it really is.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Zoltar’s Revenge | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  2. passionfortruths · September 2, 2014

    Interesting last paragraph..ha..ha.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

