Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley.

I’m not a crier.  I don’t cry at weddings, funerals….but play this song, and I’m sobbing like a baby.  It’s hard to immediately explain why it makes me cry as much as it does.  Jeff Buckley died young, but I wasn’t a fan of his at the time, I’d never even heard of him.  I know it’s been used quite a bit in TVs and movies to be the background for moments when someone has died or is dying, but off-hand, I can’t think of any of them.  There’s just something about the music that touches me, combined with the lyrics that paint a very vivid picture, and we can thank Leonard Cohen for that.  Because it makes me so emotional, I don’t intentionally set out to play it, knowing I’d just be in ball on the floor crying before too long, but if I do happen to come across it on the radio or on the Internet, or even on TV/in a movie, the floodgates open up. 

The last time I had a good cry incidentally, it had nothing to do with this song.  As I said above, I’m not a crier.  I was having a very frustrating day, the stress of trying to find work weighing on me more and more until I finally just snapped and started bawling.  It didn’t last long, just enough to get all the upset and anger out of my system.  I have to admit to feeling better afterward, and I think part of the reason I can be closed off emotionally is because I don’t cry, and just let everything internalize until I finally snap. 

One comment

  1. One of my favourite songs of all time. Love his version, Cohen’s original, k d lang’s, and although it doesn’t sound like a fit, love Bon Jovi’s too. Gone through a few kleenex myself listening. Marianne

    Like

Tell me what you think!

