Too many negatives to make it worthwhile.

Foresight can be a lovely thing, as who wouldn’t want to know what’s going to happen before it happens, but if exercising that new-found power costs me a day of my life, I don’t know if I’d utilize it.  Like most people, I have a fear of dying.  I know it’ll happen one day, as it happens to everyone and everything, but that doesn’t mean I’d like to help it get here any faster.  I think the only situation that could arise that would make me change my mind would be if I could prevent some mass tragedy from happening or if I could stop a loved one from being killed in an accident….something like that.  I certainly wouldn’t use it for personal gain. 

On the other hand, much like any hypothetical superpower, such as x-ray vision, invisibility, or something like The Doctor’s ability to regenerate, there are downsides to it.  You’d be very much alone in the world with this power, and if anyone discovered you had it, they could use it against you to achieve their own ends.  The other downside is people might not believe you.  You could get a flash of your husband being hit by a car on his way to work, but if you tell him, what are the chances he’d take you seriously, rather than assume you’re just worrying about him too much?  What if you get a vision of a mass terrorist attack on the scale of 9/11 happening in 48 hours…..who would you call, and how would you be able to prove you weren’t a complete nutter?  Afterward, you could be arrested for being a part of the plot, since who else would know about it ahead of time?  You’d either be locked up in prison the rest of your life, or put in a psychiatric hospital for a while. 

In the end, I just don’t think it would be worth it.

Tell me what you think!

