Empire State of Mind

So, I have to write for 10 minutes, and I’ve decided to tell you all about my favorite place in the world — New York City.  I’m not from NYC, I’ve never even been there, but thanks to Google Earth, I’ve spent more time traversing its streets than I have the streets of my own hometown, Chicago.  It’s my ultimate dream to move there, but unfortunately, I don’t think that’s going to happen.  You need money to pick up and move, and I don’t have any of that.  Plus, I wouldn’t want to move without securing employment so I’d be able to make money to live off of while I was there.

Anyway, what do I love most about New York?  Its energy.  I love the fact that everything seems to be happening there all the time.  I love the architecture.  The Brooklyn Bridge is graceful with its Gothic arches and its limestone towers, and the Chrysler Building is graceful with its Art Deco chrome and shiny steel spire.  I love the culture.  I love the food.  I love the music, movies, TV shows, books, and art pieces set there.  As I mentioned above, Google Earth’s Street View has given me the ability to see the city in a way that I’d never have been able to otherwise, and I love it.  I spend my Friday nights exploring the various boroughs, all while drinking a Starbucks and listening to music.  It’s a lovely way to unwind.

I’m also a history buff, and New York has a lot of history, which immediately intrigues me.  It’s an old city, and while very little of the pre-Civil War city still exists, as it was all mostly torn down or destroyed during the 1870s onward, I still like reading about where things used to stand, like Pieter Stuyvesant’s pear tree, which he planted, that used to be on the corner of what is now 3rd Avenue and 13th Street.  It would be amazing if it were still there, a link to the city’s Dutch colonial past, but it was brought down a little over 100 years ago, mostly because continued bad weather weakened it.  You see little glimpses here in there, like old light poles, subway signs that had been covered by advertising, ads painted on the sides of buildings meant to be seen from the elevated tracks…..things like that.  So few cities in this country are that old (it recently celebrated its 350th birthday).  Not to mention, my father’s father’s parents, or my paternal great-grandparents, emigrated here from Austria and came through Ellis Island.  I’m one of 100 million Americans who can say they had an ancestor or ancestors processed through that facility.

5 comments

  1. loupmojo · September 18, 2014

    Sadly, when I think of New York, I think of crime and dirt streets and rude people. Not sure why, but it certainly isn’t high on my places to visit. Me, I want to move to a one bed apartment or house in the middle of nowhere so I can finally be alone, as far from your ideal as can be 😉

    Like

  2. ivyon · September 18, 2014

    I think I am one of the rare who is not impressed with New York 🙂 I just want to visit…

    Like

  3. Pingback: They shall sleep hungry tonight, but, not by their choice.. | shivansh chaudhary
  4. Pingback: What, Me Worry? | Cancer Isn't Pink
  5. janeydoe57 · September 20, 2014

    What a fabulous idea! No, I probably won’t move to New York, but I never thought of visiting somewhere via Google Street or whatever it is. Now if I just knew where to start…

    Like

Tell me what you think!

