My favorite time of year.

I know for some people, a drop in temperature and the march towards October reminds them that cooler weather is coming, and they’d rather the bright summer sunshine, but for me, nothing beats autumn.  I don’t like heat, so for me, the end of summer is a welcome blessing.  I can finally walk the dog and do other things outdoors without having to change clothes because I’ve sweat through them.  Now, obviously if you don’t live in a part of the country that deals with insanely humid summers, that won’t be a consideration for you, but it is for me.  That slight chill in the air that puts a little color in your cheeks and makes you feel alive……nothing beats it for me.  I love the leaves changing colors.  We have a huge Bradford pear tree in our front yard that turns the most beautiful shades of red and orange right before the leaves drop off to the ground.  I love the smell of people burning their leaves (you can do that around here), as it reminds me of going to visit my grandmother as a child.  She had a wire basket in her backyard she’d burn leaves in.  The first whiff, and I’m immediately transported back.  I love all the decorations people put up for Halloween and Thanksgiving.  I’m not a fan of Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte, but I do love pumpkin spice cookies and cupcakes, as well as pumpkin pie, and my mother makes the best I’ve ever had.  I even like raking leaves!  Well, I like raking leaves with my dad.  If I had to do it alone, I’d probably loathe it.

For me, autumn is the singularly best season there is.  Winter can be too cold, and we get ice down here, so it makes it nice to look at, but hazardous to move around in.  Summer is pretty with all the bright flowers and blue skies, but the heat makes it unbearable.  Spring is too wet and chilly still, and I always get sick.  Autumn, though…..it just doesn’t get much better for me.

One comment

  1. Mother Hen · September 21, 2014

    Great expression of you appreciation for Autumn..I love it too! Happy falling leaves and spiciness throughout your fall days…

    Like

Tell me what you think!

