The truth sometimes hurts.

I’m not very good at receiving criticism, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want it when it’s warranted.  The only way we learn and grow is by realizing we’ve done something wrong or in error, so we can take the appropriate steps to correct it.  I can’t fix something I don’t know is broken if you don’t tell me it’s broken.  I do think however, there is a right way and a wrong way to go about criticizing someone or something someone has done.  If you go at it with a bad attitude, it’s going to be less constructive and more outright insulting.  Telling me my paper or project is poor because I didn’t cite the right sources or I didn’t put as much time into it as I should have is much different than saying my paper is poor because I’m stupid or because I’m an idiot or because I just plain suck.  No matter what, it’s going to hurt to hear it, but at least with the former, I can still respect you afterward.

Tell me what you think!

