Early Riser

Let’s see, another 10 minute free-form writing assignment.  It’s 8:51 right now, so here we go — I get up early.  Like, around 6:30 early, and usually the sun is not yet up.  There’s some orange-pink light filtering in the sky, but otherwise, it’s still fairly dark.  What’s funny about that is that it wasn’t that long ago where the idea of getting up at 6:30 in the morning, employed or unemployed, would have horrified me.  I can remember staying up until 5 or 6 o’clock in the morning, then sleeping until 2 or 3 o’clock in the afternoon.  I couldn’t imagine doing that now.  I guess it’s a function of getting older, wherein you don’t want to waste even a second of the day if you can help it.  I get up at 6:30, make the bed, get dressed, then take the dog out.  Afterward, I make my breakfast, a bowl of Special K, then I sit down at my desk to eat, check my e-mails/social media account, then peruse the job boards to see if anything I’m qualified for has been posted recently.  I do all of this before 7:30 every single day.  I don’t sleep in, even on the weekends.  I probably could, but the dog would turn yellow waiting for me to get my sorry ass out of bed.  I often joke that everyone else in my house can sleep in on the weekends or on holidays, mostly because the time they get up is dictated by the time my sister has to get up, but little ol’ me doesn’t get that luxury.

One of the benefits of getting up this early, which I briefly alluded to above, is that I can watch the sunrise each morning, provided it’s not cloudy.  In fact this morning, the sun was a bright, brilliant red as it started coming up, owing to the fog that was still lingering in the air.  The rest of the sky was a bright pink, almost like a giant crayon had been melted and smeared everywhere.  I think it’s ultimately my favorite aspect of having to get up so early every day.  Sunsets are nice, but sunrises are better.

5 comments

  1. Lisa's Kansa Muse · October 2, 2014

    I agree.

    Like

  2. loupmojo · October 2, 2014

    I prefer sunsets, mainly because it means night time is coming and I love the night 😀 I’m an early riser, but not by choice. I just can’t seem to untrain my body to quit waking up in time to get everyone ready for school or work… despite the fact they are all out of school and two of ’em don’t even live here any more 😀

    Like

  3. Pingback: Incandescent Joy – The 3rd of October 2007 – Evanston, Illinois | Forgotten Correspondence
  4. Pingback: Ready, Set, Done | Blogged With Words
  5. Nicola Newman · November 3, 2014

    Is silence violence?

    Like

Tell me what you think!

