Justin Bieber sucks.

While I tend to give just about anything a chance before deciding whether I like it or not, I am a complete snob when it comes to music.  I’m not afraid to look down at people who listen to Justin Bieber, One Direction, Miley Cyrus, or any other group or artist that teenage girls especially, wet their panties over.  I’m totally aware of how hypocritical this is, because when I was a teenager, my walls were plastered with ‘NSYNC posters, and they weren’t exactly the second coming of Led Zeppelin.  I think the difference between me in my teenage years and teenage girls today is that one, we didn’t have Twitter/Tumblr/Instagram/Facebook with which to annoy the fuck out of people with our delusional rantings, and two, I listened to a lot more than just NSYNC and other boy bands.  My musical tastes were greatly influenced by my parents, who are baby boomers, so I grew to love and appreciate the Classic Rock and Oldies that they listened to when they were teenagers and young adults, and that has stuck with me to this day.  I listened to a lot of contemporary music as well, but I always returned to that.  Nowadays, I’d rather buy the new Pink Floyd album that’s coming out soon than turn on the radio and listen to whatever passes for “hits” these days, whether it’s Justin Bieber or someone else.

Is that bad?  Maybe it is.  I happened to chat with someone online who said Frank Sinatra sucked, and that they’d rather listen to Ariana Grande instead, and it floored me.  I immediately dismissed that person as a moron, because come on.  Frank Sinatra sucks?  I don’t think so, sweetheart.

8 comments

  1. lifeassirli · October 8, 2014

    For me its the fans I don’t like, some of them. They just insult or threaten when you say anything bad about their obsession.

    Like

    • Beth · October 8, 2014

      See, I find that kind of shit humorous. I’ve had Beliebers and Directioners and all these other goofy little girls sending me hate tweets and all that, but I just laugh at them. They obviously think if they defend him/them enough, they’ll get backstage passes or a make-out session or whatever it is they’re looking for. I do agree though, that my dislike of these artists is in part, a direct response to their fans.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Upturned Noses | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  3. zathra · October 8, 2014

    I precribe some Earth, Wind & Fire, or Chicago or Santana to combat the Bieber influence !!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. simplygiselle · October 8, 2014

    You had me at Just Bieber sucks….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loupmojo · October 8, 2014

    It was Donny Osmond for me (still is, if I’m honest), but yes, i am a musical snob. I can’t stand ‘pop’ or ‘rap/hio-hop’ and cannot understand how anyone can say such things are better than Sinatra or Ella or a million other class acts who could wipe the floor with that auto-tuned carp!

    Like

    • Beth · October 8, 2014

      I like some rap/hip-hop, like Jay-Z, Beastie Boys, and more old school artists like Kurtis Blow, Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, LL Cool J, and Run DMC, but a lot of current stuff is too grotesque for me to listen to.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. AstridOxford · October 8, 2014

    :O Frank Sinatra does not suck. I feel so sad for that person, so sad I could cry.

    And I 100% agree with you on the abuse of social media by these delusional fangirls (and boys). I loved ‘NSYNC as well, but I’m not sure I would have verbally abused somebody if they preferred Backstreet Boys for example. I wonder what ‘clever’ name they would have come up with for ‘people who listened to ‘NSYNC’?

    Like

Tell me what you think!

