Neither — I’m not a slob.

Both my bedroom and my MacBook desktop screen are immaculate.  I don’t like clutter.  I don’t get on the floor and pick up individual hairs and crumbs with a pair of tweezers, but I vacuum once a week, dust every other week, make the bed every day…..things like that.  I don’t leave clothes or shoes lying around, books are on their proper shelves, my vinyl records are in their crate, my desk is neat and orderly, even the rugs on my floor are straight.  I should note that my sister is the exact opposite; her room always looks like a bomb just went off.  I don’t get how she can live in a room where you can hardly see the floor, the desk is piled up with crap, and there are literally piles of shoes and clothes all over the place.

As for my computer, I’m absolutely anal retentive about that.  I don’t want to look at file folders, individual files, icons, or anything else.  I want to look at my wallpaper.  That’s why I have it.  I even hide the dock so that it’ll only appear when I mouse over the left side of my screen, otherwise remaining unseen.  I just don’t see the need to have anything on the desktop screen.  How difficult would it be for me to go to Finder –> Documents or Finder –> Music?  Or I could just access the Dock and go straight to Applications if it’s something there I need.  When I see other people’s screens, and I can barely make out what the background is supposed to be, or if they have no background, just a load of icons, folders, and files…..I feel this overwhelming need to take their computer and clean it up for them, because if it were mine, it would drive me spare.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sweeping-motions/

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweeping Motions | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  2. zathra · October 14, 2014

    People have different approaces to desktops. I often put my own photography on screen, or something from deviantART ( never did get why they use the lower – case then go all caps ), or Google / Bing images.
    As for my apartment, it’s small & relatively easy to keep clean. Keeping it uncluttered is another matter.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Pedantic Parodoxicary | Keyboard Pizza
  4. Pingback: Messy Little Home Office – A Daily Prompt Post | Avalon
  5. loupmojo · October 14, 2014

    I love my backgrounds but I am also very good at forgetting where to find things on my laptop, so I compromise. I have about 5 icons down the left side of my screen for things I always use and that’s the lot.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rose Red · October 18, 2014

    I wish I was so tidy! I cleaned houses for a living for years but my area accumulates the clutter I hate. As for the messes, I’m understanding that some people are comforted by their favourite things around them instead of put away, and signs of life in piles about the floor instead of tidied up.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

