A world of pure imagination.

I didn’t have an imaginary friend growing up, though I wish I did, because while I had a few friends, I didn’t have a lot, and some fake ones would have at least filled up and passed the time.  Do I ever think about the friends I had back in grammar school and wonder how they’re doing?  Yeah.  It’s been almost 20 years since I graduated, and a lot can happen in a life in two decades.  Are any of them married?  Do they have kids?  What kinds of jobs are they doing now?  Did any of them go to college?  Unfortunately, I live out of state now, so I don’t have any opportunities to find them and ask them directly.  I don’t like Shitbook, so I don’t use it, or else I probably could find a few of them, if they aren’t going by married names now.  Considering we all grew up in middle-class homes, I’d think on a basic level, their lives are quite similar to mine.  I don’t believe any of us ever had dreams of winning the lottery and moving to a penthouse suite on Lake Shore Drive, so it’s probably not likely that any of them have.  A couple of the boys in my class I am 99% certain ended up in prison, but I think the rest came out alright.  I hope.

I suppose that’s one of the things that sucks about moving away from your hometown.  You lose touch with people you had been close to, and a chasm erupts between them and you.  Even the friends I had in high school I don’t keep in touch with anymore.  I have one really good friend, and we were roommates in college, and we chat on Twitter a lot.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/imaginary-friend/

Tell me what you think!

