Religious and political solicitors, please go away.

Am I the only person who gets annoyed by people who can’t take a hint?  I live in a small, semi-rural town in a mid-Atlantic state.  Therefore, there are a lot of churches and other religious establishments, which means people from said establishments go around in the various subdivisions and communities looking to recruit people.  In the last year alone, I’ve been stopped by no less than maybe 20 different people, all asking if I’d like to join their church.  Some of these people have been people I’ve seen before, and that’s what puzzles me.  I said I was an atheist…..that hasn’t changed.  Just because you last approached me five months ago doesn’t mean in the last five months I’ve decided to turn my heart towards Jesus.  I haven’t.  Because I think all that is bunk.  They always give me the same incredulous look, too.  That’s the only part of this that is remotely amusing.  It’s almost like they can’t believe someone would dare to disagree with them about that.  I’m never rude, I’m never mean, I always say, “No thank you, I’m not a believer,” and then I tell them to have a nice day.  I do know people who are rude about it, but I don’t see the point in perpetuating stereotypes that atheists hate Christians, and thus treat them like shit.  I understand you’re passionate about your faith and want to share it with as many people as you can, but you’re never, never, never, EVER going to change my mind, so go spread the word to someone else.

On that same note, please stop asking me to consider the political candidate you’re stumping for.  Especially if I’ve already said no to you once before.  I’m a Democrat.  I vote for Democrats.  I wouldn’t vote for a Republican if they were the only choice on the ballot.  I don’t say that to any of these volunteers, because again, I don’t want to be rude, but when I tell you I’m not interested in your candidate, that should be your clue that I don’t vote the way you think I should vote.  I did volunteering for President Obama in 2008 and in 2012, so I understand what they’re doing, but I also never went back to someone when they told me they weren’t going to vote for him.  What would be the point?  To annoy them?  I don’t want to do that.  Some of these campaign volunteers seem hell-bound and determined to do just that.  As a side note, approaching me on the street when I’m walking my dog, then coming up to my front door later on isn’t going to make me more receptive to your patter, even if you’re supporting a candidate I also support.  You’ve talked to me once.  That’s enough.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-5/

3 comments

  1. zathra · October 23, 2014

    Best be glad that you don’t live in the Bible Belt, where ( most ) people think that Jesus would drive a pick – up truck with a gun rack on the back. At least in the smaller towns in the B B, full of conservatives.

    Like

    • Beth · October 23, 2014

      I’ve certainly seen/heard of it being a lot worse, so I’m grateful that I have to put up with just the minor annoyances that I do.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eleven Benevolent Elephants | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Tell me what you think!

