She ain’t heavy, she’s my sister.

My sister and I couldn’t be more opposite.  I’m 5 1/2 years older than her, but that’s not the extent of our opposite-ness (that’s not a word, but go with it).  I’m introverted, she’s extroverted.  I’m more analytical and logical, she’s more touchy-feely and emotional.  She’s religious (or at least spiritual), I’m an atheist.  She votes mostly Republican, I’m very, very liberal.  She roots for the Chicago Cubs, I’m a New York Yankees fan.  She roots for the Chicago Blackhawks, I root for the Detroit Red Wings.  I’m a neat freak that likes to keep things organized and clutter-free, she just throws shit anywhere.  She has a lighter spirit, I tend to worry and obsess about things that haven’t even entered her mind.  I could probably keep going, but you get the picture.

Why do we get along despite all this?  Our age is a big factor, since we’re not little kids anymore, a lot of those differences aren’t really deal-breakers like they were when we were in our teens.  Also, we don’t spend a lot of time together as she spends a lot of her time at her boyfriend’s apartment, so there isn’t friction and tension like there would be if we were up underneath each other’s armpits all the time.  I wish we spent more time together, but I’m glad for what we have.  It could always be worse.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/oil-meet-water/

One comment

  1. Travelling Macs · November 12, 2014

    Nothing like the love and friendship of a sibling. I’m lucky I have 2 sisters one 6 years older, one 15 months younger. Nurture what you have 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think!

