Can’t you wait until after Thanksgiving?

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I’m getting a little tired of seeing people (and retail stores) put up Christmas decorations before Thanksgiving.  A couple houses in my subdivision had them up right after Halloween.  Walmart was already selling Christmas trees, lights, decorations, and other ephemera on November 1, and the town I live in just put up all the lighted wreaths and bows on all the street lights.  The house a few doors down from ours leaves some of their decorations up all year, just turning them back on once autumn arrives.

I know I sound like the Grinch, but I genuinely love Christmas.  It’s one of my favorite times of the year.  I just think people get carried away with it and every year, start inching the “Christmas season” further and further up the calendar.  Pretty soon, people will start putting out Christmas stuff for next year on December 26.  We did things a bit differently in my house, by dint of my sister’s birthday being December 3.  We never put the tree up or any other decorations until after that date, because my parents didn’t want her to think we thought Christmas was more important.  Even now that she’ll be 27 this year, we still do that anyway, just by force of habit.  I know a lot of people do all their decorating the day after Thanksgiving, when they get a whole lot of stuff on sale when they go shopping.  Fine.  Black Friday is to me, an acceptable date to start decking the halls, but not before that.  I’d get sick of everything by New Years if I put it all up this early.  I love a well-decorated tree, but even I’d get sick of looking at it after a while.

While we’re at it, can I express how much I loathe radio stations that play the same fucking Christmas songs 10x an hour?  I know that many artists have done versions or interpretations of Silent Night or Jingle Bells or White Christmas, but do I need to hear them all back to back to back ad infinitum?  Also, STOP PLAYING SANTA BABY.  It’s not cute, it’s not sexy, it’s annoying.  I could probably fill the rest of these 10 minutes with Christmas songs that make my skin crawl, but I’ll spare you that.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-6/

One comment

  1. AnnaMae Tollefson · November 13, 2014

    At our house, we’re just procrastinators. We don’t get the tree up till the week of Christmas, and we often are sitting around waiting to for someone to finish wrapping their presents so everyone can start opening them. 🙂 I too don’t like how early Christmas stuff is going up. I like Christmas, but not THAT much Christmas.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

