The busier, the better.

For me, I think a great day is defined by how much I can get done before it’s over.  I enjoy sitting back and relaxing, don’t get me wrong, but I’m the kind of person that can quickly get depressed if I’m just sitting around doing nothing for too long a stretch of time, so I like to keep as busy as I can.  When you’re out of work, that can be hard to do, because there’s really only so many times you can clean windows or vacuum or do laundry before there’s nothing left to do, but still.  I think today I might actually clean my windows, because I haven’t done it in a while, and they’re starting to get a bit grimy looking.  Part of the reason I think I feel this way is that I don’t like to waste time.  I get up at 6:30 every morning, even though I don’t have to, because I like to maximize my waking hours to do as much as I can, even if it’s just simple stuff like mending some clothes or raking leaves.  I think back and laugh at the fact that maybe 6 or 7 years ago, I could stay up until 5 or 6 in the morning, go to sleep, then get up at 2 or 3 in the afternoon and not think there was anything wrong with that.  My dad laughs that I don’t need to bust my ass around the house as much as I do, it’s not necessary, but I don’t agree.  When you’re unemployed and living at home, sitting on your ass all day or even part of the day, doesn’t help take away the feelings of worthlessness or uselessness that you feel.  The only thing that will do that is work of some kind.

I only allow myself one day (or part of the day) for relaxing and taking it easy, and that’s Friday night.  I get my fancy coffee drink, I kick off my shoes, I load up Google Earth, I turn on the jazz station (preferably either Big Band/Swing or Singers & Standards), and I completely unwind.  No one needs to get a hold of me, there are no chores left to do, I can have that time for me.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/still-or-sparkling/

Tell me what you think!

