Did you know the word monosyllabic isn’t itself, monosyllabic? What’s up with that?

I love this time of year.  Heat is not my friend.  Sweat is not, nor will it soon be, a good look.  I like a brisk wind, an ice blue sky, no clouds….just sun.  It is nice to look at, but I can do with no snow.  Same with ice.  Cold temps are fine by me — I get to wear a big scarf.  Back to the wind….brisk is nice, gale force is not.  I want to stay on my feet, not get swept down the road.  Too, those who put stuff on the curb should take care to note that when the wind blows, said stuff blows too.  I took a wet leaf to the face, and it was not nice.  So….thanks, person-on-my-block-who-is-not-neat.

(You have no idea how difficult it was to try and express myself with just one syllable words.  I didn’t realize just how much of my vocabulary is made up of words that are polysyllabic, not including any contractions.  That above paragraph probably sounds like something I would have learned to read when I was three or four years old, but it was still a nice study in how to try and communicate using simple, uncluttered language.)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/one-at-a-time/

5 comments

  1. Laura Gabrielle Feasey · December 8, 2014

    I like it. It sounds like a stream of hurried consciousness which is quite nice! I too did think the word monosyllabic was possibly the most hypocritical of all the words… 😀

    Like

  2. movingtowardsthelight · December 8, 2014

    Awesome!

    Like

  3. livingonchi · December 8, 2014

    Nice job!

    Like

  4. CJPardun · December 8, 2014

    Fantastic! Except for your one word “person,” you nailed it! And the prose was zippy. Great work. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · December 8, 2014

      Crap….I just caught that. Oh well. LOL

      Like

Tell me what you think!

