It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year (again!)

I love the holiday season.  It’s one of my favorite times of year, next to my birthday.  Everything about this time of year makes me happy, really.  The weather, the music, seeing other people’s houses decorated with lights and whatnot….it’s just fun.  I will preface this by saying that the holiday season doesn’t truly start for me until the first of December.  I can understand how other people can be sick of it by then, especially when stores put up Christmas displays in October and radio stations switch over to the all-Christmas format before Halloween.  That happened here, and it was pretty damn hysterical.  I think it was the first week of October when WalMart put up all their holiday stuff, including the pre-lit fake trees for sale, and a week before Halloween, one radio station was already playing 24 hours of Christmas music.  I just ignore everything until December.  My family doesn’t even put the tree up until after my sister’s birthday, because when she was little, my parents didn’t want her to think we thought Christmas was more important.  So, even though she’s 27 now, we still wait until after December 3 to decorate.  It’s just a family tradition I suppose.

I kind of feel bad for people who dislike the holidays.  I know for some people, especially those that may not have friends or family to celebrate with, it can seem like an interminable slog until January, so my sympathy is with them.  However, people that have no real reason to be depressed this time of year, and just generally hate on people being happy and cheerful….I don’t get it.  Life is too short to be miserable about things that aren’t worth the effort.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/getting-seasonal/

6 comments

  1. Claudia H. Blanton · December 19, 2014

    you are so right “Life is too short to be miserable about things” thank you for putting into words, what I was thinking! Happy Holidays!

    Like

  2. The Daily Blabber · December 19, 2014

    I’m not a fan of Christmas but I am not going to hate on those that love it. I do love a good Christmas tree… all lit and covered in ornaments. Other than the look of joy in my son’s eyes on Christmas morning the tree is why I celebrate. It’s a peaceful and happy symbol of a overly commercialized holiday.

    Like

    • Beth · December 19, 2014

      For me, as someone who is not religious, the secular or commercialized aspects of the day are what appeal to me, since I don’t believe in the ecclesiastical significance of it. So brightly lit trees, candy canes, snowmen, Santa and his reindeer…..that’s what I love.

      So yeah, I really enjoy a beautifully decorated Christmas tree too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Marilyn Armstrong · December 19, 2014

    There are a lot of miserable, unhappy people out there who seem to thrive on spreading bad cheer. I don’t get it either.

    Like

  4. Pingback: hey it’s Christmas, not holiday~get over it!!! | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  5. Pingback: Getting Seasonal – Christmas and New Year | Jesus Saviour

Tell me what you think!

