Resolutions, schmesolutions.

I don’t do New Year’s resolutions.  I don’t see the point.  Telling yourself on January 1 that you’re going to do XYZ just means you’ll do none of them by February 1.  I think the smarter thing to do is set small goals for yourself as the year goes on, goals you know you can achieve.  Don’t say, “I’ll lose 50 lbs this year.”  Say, “I’ll lose 3 lbs this month.”  After that, set a goal of losing 3 lbs the following month, so on and so forth.  By the end of the year, if you’re successful, you’ll be down 36 lbs.  It’s not the 50 someone else would have said, but it’s no kick in the teeth, either.  If weight loss isn’t something you need to work on, but rather trying to find the right job, set a goal for yourself of sending your resume out a certain number of times a week or every two weeks, depending on when new jobs are posted.  Sometimes a slew of jobs come up, but you’re not qualified for any of them, or they aren’t in fields you have experience or education in.

I just think too many people get hung up on making sweeping proclamations after chowing down on New Year’s lunch and watching the Rose Bowl that they forget a true resolution is supposed to be something you can do and stick with the whole year.  It’s not just something you say to make yourself look ambitious.  I’d love to lose 50 lbs next year.  Hell, I’d love to lose 100 lbs next year, but short of chopping off limbs, that’s not going to happen.  So, I make manageable goals for myself, and I see more results that way.  More people would be wise to do the same.  They might find themselves happier in the long run.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/to-be-resolved/

13 comments

  1. zathra · December 22, 2014

    I’m going to try to lose weight next year, but that’s not a resolution, that will be my attempt to get back into shape. I will also try to learn one new thing a day, which is something I try to do anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · December 23, 2014

      I like that. I have a word-a-day calendar, and I always try to work it into a sentence if I can, just because sometimes I feel my vocabulary is a bit limited. Losing weight has been a battle of mine for years, but I keep plugging along…no other real option, there.

      Liked by 1 person

      • zathra · December 23, 2014

        Any dietary endeavour will be for health reasons, not vanity or because I want to look like a Ken doll. 🙂
        I’ll also endeavour to post more photography where I can ( Flickr & deviantArt being my 2 outlets ) so maybe I’ll be discovered. 🙂

        Like

  2. rehmanjafar · December 22, 2014

    Perfect,this post makes so much sense.
    Indeed you can start whenever you want(either in august or even on 1st Jan),but you must stick to it.
    Great post,loved it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • zathra · December 22, 2014

      Resolutions are idealistic.
      I am something of an idealist, but resolutions seem archaic / anachronistic to me.
      A bit of a conflict here.

      Liked by 1 person

      • rehmanjafar · December 22, 2014

        Seems like a big conflict to me too,but yeah just follow what you really think is right.

        Like

  3. commonplace blogger · December 22, 2014

    Your title grabbed me because I knew we were on the same page. Great post — as expected. I focus on small improvements as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Echoes through an Empty Church | Murder & missadventure
  5. Pingback: What’s a New Year’s Resolution? or: How Pressure Destroys Us Before We Can Even Get Out of Bed | The World According to Ryland
  6. alanjryland · December 22, 2014

    I wrote my own response to this prompt and quoted you – you really took the words out of my mouth. Excellent post. Short and sweet. I’ve followed you, too! Thanks for the great read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · December 22, 2014

      Thank you! I appreciate that. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • alanjryland · December 23, 2014

        You’re welcome! 🙂

        Like

  7. Pingback: Yesterday, I Was Broken | Ramisa the Authoress

Tell me what you think!

