Please, be intelligent tonight.

It’s New Year’s Eve, and in this culture that means going out and getting assface drunk.  I won’t be doing that because I hate alcohol and have no friends to go out with anyway, even if I didn’t, but I know some of you will be doing that.  Don’t be idiots.  If you’re going to get drunk, do it at home.  Or, do it at a friend’s house and then stay the night, driving home in the morning.  Or, take a cab home from wherever the party is located.  In short, don’t get assface drunk, then get behind the wheel of a car.  Drunk drivers are worthless sacks of shit — don’t be one.

Now that that public service announcement is over, on to the prompt for today.  The last time I cried tears of joy was a couple of months ago.  I went to Urgent Care because I felt something was wrong, and didn’t trust myself to not get some kind of professional diagnosis.  It turned out nothing was wrong with me, I merely scared myself into thinking something was.  When I received the news that all was well, I actually started tearing up, which was strange, because I’m really not a crier.  I’ve been to funerals, I’ve watched sad movies, I’ve tripped and fallen down stairs…no tears.  I am what I’d like to call an “internalizer.”  I don’t show negative outward emotion except in rare circumstances.  Happiness I have no problem being very open about, but sadness, anger, depression….I tend to keep that bottled up.  Probably not the healthiest thing to do, but it works for me.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/happy-happy-joy-joy/

7 comments

  1. disappearingwoman · December 31, 2014

    I’m not a huge crier either when it comes to serious things, but I did get a good laugh out of your phrase “assface drunk!” No worries with me, or mine, doing that tonight!

    Like

    • Beth · December 31, 2014

      I like to try and invent new forms of profanity if I can. The old standards are nice, certainly, but sometimes a fresh approach is called for.

      Like

  2. granonine · December 31, 2014

    Totally agree with you on the drinking. Why anyone ever thinks it’s fun to get plasteredsickstupidandmaybedead is really beyond my understanding.

    Like

    • Beth · December 31, 2014

      I was that weird person that never felt any desire to drink when I was underage. I had friends who did, I went to parties where people were drinking, but I didn’t feel that pull to join in so that I didn’t stand out. I would be offered some, I’d decline, and that was that. I understand it’s not the same for everyone, as people react to peer pressure differently. The reason I don’t drink as an adult is because there’s too much alcoholism in my family tree, and the knowledge of that just turned me off the stuff. Marsala wine in a pasta sauce is one thing (the alcohol is cooked out), bourbon shots are another.

      Like

      • granonine · December 31, 2014

        Similar to your choice, my own choice was partially formed by an alcoholic relative who died before she was 50, having spent the last ten years of her life in a nursing home. Her brain was fried. Literally gone. The other influence was my no-alcohol upbringing, which was never a burden to me and still isn’t. I choose not to drink because, well, I just don’t want to!

        Like

  3. mohdnaufil · December 31, 2014

    I don’t drink because I’m a Muslim! 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think!

