I suppose it would depend on your definition of it.

(I didn’t have anything to really add to today’s prompt, so I kept clicking “Try Another Prompt” until I got to this one.)

Am I patriotic?  I don’t know.  I guess.  Maybe.  I never said the Pledge of Allegiance when I was in school because I thought it was creepy to deify a piece of fabric, and I don’t sing the national anthem because I’d much rather hear a band play it than listen to 20,000 drunken sports fans scream out the lyrics.  I don’t think the United States is perfect, in fact, I think we have a lot of faults we need to work on.  I’m not one of those people who think we’re the gosh darn greatest country that ever lived and we never do anything wrong and we’re uber-special-awesome.  I actually find that kind of that attitude far more dangerous than believing we could do better than we currently are.

Is any of that patriotism?  I don’t want to live in another country, and I pay taxes, vote, and appear for jury duty like I’m supposed to, so I obviously don’t shirk my responsibilities as a law-abiding citizen, but patriotism as defined by the FauxNooz-watching segment of the population is not patriotism as I see it.  Patriotism to me is not being afraid to say, “You know what, we can do XYZ better, so here’s what needs to happen so that we can.”  Patriotism ISN’T blind allegiance and flag-waving hoorah that you don’t only do on Memorial Day and the Fourth of July because you can’t let the neighbors see you not putting the flag out.  It also isn’t jingoistic, nationalistic bullshit that purports because we’re Americans, people in other countries are lesser or beneath us.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-pledge-allegiance/

Tell me what you think!

