Snow removal.

Do you know how tedious shoveling snow is?  Our area got about 5″ of snow overnight yesterday, so when I woke up, getting down the stairs to take the dog out was a bit of a challenge.  Well, more than a bit of a challenge, if I’m being honest.  So, around 7:45, my dad and I headed outside to start clearing off the stairs, the sidewalk, and the driveway.  Thankfully we didn’t get any rain before the snow started falling, so we didn’t have any ice under the 5″ of snow to worry about trying to break up.  You could just shovel straight down to the pavement.  My sister joined in the fun once she got up, so toward the end, there were three people taking turns shoveling, as we regrettably only own one.  That will be changing, BTW.  Once fall comes later this year, we’re totes buying a second shovel.  It took my dad and I about 2 hours to do 3/4 of the shoveling, and then the three of us another hour to do the rest.  With more than one shovel going, we could have been done in half the time.  I think.  Math was never my strongest subject.

Hopefully we’re done with snow for the rest of the year, because I don’t want to see any of this shit anymore except in photographs or on TV.  We’ve been living away from the Midwest for 14 years now, and one of the things I enjoy about where we live now is that we don’t get the really brutal winters we were all used to getting.  It gets cold, but not bitterly cold.  We get an occasional flurry, but not a blizzard.  The last few weeks have been absolutely horrid, weather-wise.  We set the clocks forward next Sunday, and spring officially begins in three weeks. I’m looking forward to that.

Anyway, I thought I would just let you know why you didn’t see anything from me the past couple of days….been a bit busy preparing for crappy weather, then dealing with the aftermath of the crappy weather.

Tell me what you think!

