Silence isn’t always golden.

Sorry, Tremeloes. I love your song, but in this instance, you were wrong.  Back in high school, which was over 15 years ago for me now, a friend of mine was dating a guy who thought it was cute to run around on her.  I knew about it, as did most people, because he wasn’t exactly subtle about it.  She, on the other hand, did not.  She always talked glowingly about him, showed pictures of them on dates together, waxed rhapsodic about how she hoped to marry him one day….and I kept quiet.  At the time, I thought I was doing the right thing, because her relationship wasn’t my business, and having seen it more than once on TV (I know, I know), it could have easily backfired on me.  I could have been accused of lying, making things up, and ended up losing a very good friend over it.  Looking back, it was a really stupid thing to do, because she stayed with him for a few more years, and they weren’t good years.  He became abusive, she had to take out a restraining order against him, he eventually got arrested for domestic violence.  If I’d told her before all that started happening, she might have broken things off with him and thus been spared all that misery.  It’s something I think about from time to time, particularly when she mentions she’s dating a new guy.  I live several states away now, so I don’t know what, if anything, that particular guy is doing when she’s not around, but I did promise myself that if I ever heard something, I’d tell her.  You can call it atonement, I suppose.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-it-to-rights/

Tell me what you think!

