Anywhere beautiful will do.

I’ve been to the beach, I’ve been to the forest, but I’ve never been to a mountain, so I suppose I’d like to cross that one off my list first.  Pilot Mountain is in North Carolina, maybe an hour, hour and a half’s drive from where I live, so it’s doable.  I have to say though, even though I enjoy gorgeous scenery no matter its form, the beach is still my favorite.  I grew up in Chicago, so for me, the beach was Lake Michigan’s waterfront.  I didn’t think I’d ever see an ocean up close, and then in 2009, I got to wade around in the Atlantic Ocean, and it was the coolest thing I’d ever done up to that point.  I was actually in the ocean!  On the edge of the continent!  Yeah, it’s hokey, but who cares.  The only thing I wasn’t prepared for was how much salt water stings when it gets in your eyes.  I knew it would, because duh…salt water, but I didn’t know just how salty it was going to be.  Apparently the Atlantic is incredibly saline, as compared to the Pacific.  I still had fun, though.  I’d like to go back this summer, if possible, because it’s a nice way to spend an afternoon.  The trip to the mountains I’d like to make this fall, when the trees are in full color.  That’s the only, proper way to see it, I believe.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/places/

3 comments

  1. 71schmitt · March 16, 2015

    I love your stream of conscious! The writing style is awesome. I also love this topic. I relate to your love of travel. P.S. I live in the mountains….definitely worth the trip!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Gran Quivira | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  3. Pingback: Of all places… | My Atheist Blog

Tell me what you think!

