Time.

Do you ever get the feeling that time is moving by way too fast?  It’s almost April, but it feels like we just sat down to Christmas dinner.  My birthday is in a couple of months, and it falls smack-dab in the middle of the year.  The trees are already starting to bud outside, particularly the Bradford Pear in our front yard.  It even seems like the hours go by too fast.  With the passing of today, we’re one step closer to Thursday, which is one step closer to Friday, which is one step closer to the weekend……so on and so forth, ad infinitum.

Maybe it’s because I’m an adult now, I don’t know.  When I was a kid, the day seemed to c   r   e   e   p by, and no matter how hard I tried to will the clock’s hands to move with my mind, they never did.  2:59 on a school day felt like it lasted an hour.  Now, it’s the reverse.  I feel like I just woke up, but that was 3 1/2 hours ago.  Is there some scientific or psychological explanation for this feeling?  I gotta think there is, because I can’t be the only person who ponders about these things.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/third-from-the-top/

(Line used in this post take from Passion through Poetry)

2 comments

  1. passion through poetry · March 25, 2015

    I very much enjoy reading your writing. Thank you for linking back to mine. Vonita 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · March 28, 2015

      You’re welcome. I enjoy your blog, and I thought that poem in particular was quite moving.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

