Don’t beat your kids.

I have a pretty long fuse, so it takes a lot to get me truly pissed off, but two things that will always do it, without fail, are racism and child abuse.  I’ve never had a situation where I’ve seen both at the same time, but I’ve seen plenty of both on their own.  I worked retail for a quite a while, and one incident that always stands out in my mind was a woman beating the absolute shit out of her kid behind a fitting room door.  I was cleaning up the fitting rooms of clothes and empty hangers, when I could hear a kid screaming bloody murder.  I quickly ran to the other fitting room, ascertaining which stall it was coming from, then pounded on the door, asking if everything was okay.  I knew that sometimes kids screamed for no reason, so I didn’t want to immediately jump to conclusions.  The “mother” screamed at me to mind my own effing business, then proceeded to start wailing away on the kid, with what I didn’t know, the door was closed.  I told her I was calling the police, then darted to my purse to grab my phone, and stood there detailing to the dispatcher what I heard, what I had been told, and what I knew.  She stopped at that point, realizing she was up shit creek without a paddle, then started yelling and screaming at me about how I had no right to do that, it wasn’t my place to interfere in her parenting….I was glad she was yelling at me, as it meant she wasn’t beating her child anymore.

The police showed up, hauled her away in handcuffs, the kid was taken by child services, and the whole time I’m standing there just hoping she tries to take a swing at me or something, because I’d have gladly taken the excuse to kick her right in the vagoo.  I know, two wrongs don’t make a right and violence is never the answer, but if you had to see that poor kid when she was carried away by another police officer, you’d want to put your foot up this broad’s babymaker too.  As I said, I’m not a quick-to-anger person, and I don’t get in physical confrontations of any kind, but this is one of the few situations where I was almost literally seeing red.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mad-as-a-hatter/

2 comments

  1. livingonchi · April 14, 2015

    Good for you for protecting that poor kid.

    Like

  2. holesinmysocks · April 17, 2015

    I would have done the same thing…coming from a kid who was physically abused by his father. There were many times I wished someone called the police on my father, but didn’t. So, I don’t have a tolerance for people who act like that towards their kids.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

