Top 15 Pink Floyd Songs

Pink Floyd is one of my favorite bands of all time.  I have nearly all of their albums on vinyl (original pressings), plus over 200 bootlegs of their live shows from 1970 to 1994.  Suffice to say, I’m a fan.  Also, before you ask, no I don’t do drugs.  If you can’t enjoy their music sober, something is not right in your head.  You shouldn’t need to chemically alter your perception to enjoy anything, be it music, TV, or art.  That being said, below are my 15 favorite songs of theirs, which granted can change from day to day, depending on what I’m feeling, so let’s say that these are my favorite songs today.

  1. Time
  2. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (I – IX)
  3. Burning Bridges
  4. High Hopes
  5. Comfortably Numb
  6. Us and Them
  7. Echoes
  8. Learning To Fly
  9. See-Saw
  10. Summer ’69
  11. The Embryo
  12. Dogs
  13. One of the Few
  14. Terminal Frost
  15. Cluster One

Now, I’m sure there will be people ranting about this song being placed too high and that song being placed too low, but like I said, that’s how I feel today.  Tomorrow, I might agree with you, or conversely, I might not.  The top 3 never change, however.  Those are always in that order, no matter what.  If I extended it out to the top 20 or top 25, I could probably fit in tracks you’ll notice I left out, like Money, Run Like Hell, and Interstellar Overdrive.  Feel free to leave your own lists in the comments below (if you’re a fan of theirs), and if you’re not a fan, you can tell me they suck.  Whatever you feel like doing.  🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-satisfaction-of-a-list/

3 comments

  1. simplygiselle · April 23, 2015

    You are a better person than me. No way I would be able to give their music a rating, the majority of it would be grouped into #1 or #2… great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · April 23, 2015

      It was definitely hard, as I said, there were a lot of songs left out. Those are by no means the only songs of theirs I love, and whittling the list down to just 15 required some thinking. I did try to include at least one song from each album, though I missed PatGoD, but that’s only because I’m not that much of a fan of their psychedelic stuff…..it’s not really my forte.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rewa · April 28, 2015

    I haven’t heard a whole lot of Pink Floyd, but I do agree with the ranking of most of the songs on your list. My all time favourite is Wish You Were Here. 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think!

