Childhood, Revisted.

I wish I had more friends as a kid.  I was pretty much alone until I got to high school.  I have a younger sister, but she’s 5 1/2 years my junior, so I couldn’t just hang out with her and her friends, because when I was 13 years old, she was 8.  No 13-year-old is going to hang out with their 8-year-old sibling, no way no how.  I have friends that speak quite highly about the fun they had as kids, going to birthday parties and trick or treating (though where I grew up in Chicago, that just wasn’t done), going on family vacations….I never had any of that.  I don’t think I came out worse for the wear because of it, but I can’t help but feel twinges of jealousy over the fact that my childhood wasn’t exactly perfect.  Well, maybe “perfect” isn’t the right word, as all things considered, I had a pretty good childhood.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/?dp_prompt=childhood-revisited-2

Tell me what you think!

