Truth or Dare

I know this was yesterday’s prompt, but I forgot to check it before lunch, so I figured I’d write something up on it because I like the question posed.

Is it possible to be too honest?  Yes, I believe it is.  While it’s never good to lie, sometimes white lies are more comforting and appropriate than the truth.  Would you really tell your lady love that she looks a bit chunky in that dress she’s wearing?  Not if you value your gonads, you wouldn’t.  I’m talking more about those who use honesty as a weapon, choosing to be as blunt as possible in an attempt to hurt someone else’s feelings.  You know the kind of people I’m talking about.  They’re the kind of people who say people are too “politically correct” today, and that people shouldn’t be afraid to speak their minds.  Like I said, it’s never good to lie, and everyone should make a serious attempt at being honest with people, but there does come a time when maybe it’s better to be more prudent and say nothing if you don’t want to fib, than just let your pie hole fly.

The truth wielded as a cudgel to hurt someone else is just as damaging as a lie told for the same reason.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/truth-or-dare/

Tell me what you think!

