I am an island.

Sorry, I had to continue the Simon & Garfunkel lyric from the the title of the prompt.  Asking for help is difficult for me, it always has been.  I suffer from something I call “FoF” — “Fear of Failure.”  I never raised my hand in class to answer a question unless I was 100% certain that my answer was the right answer.  I didn’t want to give the wrong one and thus look embarrassed and humiliated in front of my classmates.  If I was having a hard time understanding something, I’d force myself to figure it out alone before I asked a classmate or the teacher for help.  I don’t know if it was a pride thing or what, but it made me feel stupid to have to ask for help when everyone else in the class seemed to pick it up with ease.  It’s a wonder I managed to graduate from grammar school, high school, and college with good grades, given how averse to asking for help I was.  I still am, even as an adult.  I will drive myself spare figuring it out by myself before I finally break down and ask someone else to assist me.  It irritates my friends/family, because they don’t understand what my hang-up about it is, but the most I can ever tell them is I enjoy being as self-sufficient as I can.

I’m weird, I guess.  LOL

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-am-a-rock/

One comment

  1. lifelessons · June 11, 2015

    Sometimes I accept help just because i know it is such a pleasure to other people to be able to provide it. I have to keep reminding myself of this. Judy https://grieflessons.wordpress.com/2015/06/11/9224/

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

