Be true to your school.

There are things I miss about school (high school and college) and things I don’t.  Overall, I had a good time and didn’t fare too badly.  I had friends, I wasn’t super popular, but I wasn’t alone either, and I got great grades.  I miss the routine of classes, of my schedule basically being set every day, and I miss the joy of the weekend being my only free time to do errands, relax, or do whatever else I felt like doing.  I miss the independence being able to go where I wanted, when I wanted, without having to answer to anyone.  Not that I have to answer to anyone now, but without a car, I can’t really go anywhere without asking someone to take me there, which is annoying.  Both in high school and college, I had lots of public transportation options, so if I wanted to go somewhere, like to the movies or to the mall, I just hopped on a bus and/or train and went there.  I suppose I also miss being young.  Not that 33 is old, but I miss my late teens and early 20s.  I think feeling like the whole of your life was still ahead of you, still there for you to make of it what you will, is something I wish I appreciated more when I had it.

Now, what don’t I miss?  I don’t miss exams you were studying for until the wee small hours of the morning.  I don’t miss 30-page research papers that had to be done in APA style (footnotes and bibliography).  I don’t miss professors who treated you like a student number, rather than a human being, because the lecture hall was full to capacity with over 600 students.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fifteen-credits/

Tell me what you think!

