Young people. Bah humbug.

I was born in 1982, so depending on who you ask, I’m either at the tail end of Generation X or the very beginning of the Millennials, but since I tend to associate more with Gen X’ers and find myself having more in common with them, I’ll put myself firmly in that cohort and talk about the generation that followed me, the Millennials.

I dislike them.  Particularly the ones currently in their early teens.  They seem so ignorant, lazy, and socially irritating.  Now, that’s not to say that people in my generation are not ignorant and lazy, there’s plenty of them.  The problem is, when I was a teenager, we didn’t have social media.  No Facebook, no Twitter, no Tumblr, no Snapchat, no Instagram, no Periscope, no nothing.  If you were lucky, your parents let you have an AIM account (remember that?!?!) so you could talk to your friends outside of school without sitting on the phone, because if your parents were smart, they had one phone line strictly for the Internet and then the main house number.  There wasn’t an avenue for us to spread our idiocy to everyone else.  Now, I happen to have a few friends on Twitter from that generation that buck the trend and are incredibly intelligent and civic-minded, but from what I’ve seen, not just on the Internet but in public, they appear to be outliers.  Maybe I’m stereotyping them all based on Justin Bieber fans, I don’t know, but I can’t imagine I can learn anything from them.  I really can’t.  Horrible thing to say?  Yes, probably, but I would bet they have less than flattering things to say about people my age and older, like up to mid-40s.

Now, the generation that immediately preceded me, or the Baby Boomers, are my parents’ generation, and for all the good music, movies, TV, and sports they gave us, they’re also the most likely to be socially conservative, which I think is hanging the rest of the country out to dry.  They’re the largest voting block age-wise, and because of that, younger people that vote and tend to me more socially liberal, get drowned out.  However, when they were younger, they were instrumental in not only helping kick-start the Civil Rights movement, but also the gay rights movement and the women’s rights movement, so for all their conservatism now, they didn’t use to be that way.  We all can learn from them, I believe, the knowledge that if you get off your ass and work together toward a common goal, you can achieve it.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/generation-xyz/

Tell me what you think!

