Where have you gone, Joe DiMaggio?

I was born in 1982, so from my perspective, technologies that have become obsolete in that time span are probably less pronounced that say, someone from my parents’ generation.  If I had to pick one thing however, I’d choose audio cassettes.  I used to love listening to my Walkman coming home from school every day, and the Walgreens near my house used to sell cassette singles of the top songs on the charts, so I’ve got a nice collection of Mariah Carey cassette singles in a shoebox in my closet (she was and continues to be my favorite contemporary female vocalist) that I’d love to listen to, but I don’t own a tape player anymore.  I used to have one a long time ago, but it has since bit the dust.  I also remember taping songs off the radio so I could listen to them whenever I wanted, because we didn’t have Spotify and YouTube with which to listen to songs whenever we wanted.  I think kids today take for granted the fact that if they want to listen to the latest Nikki Minaj song, they can just search for it on YouTube and there it is, but back in my day (man, that makes me sound old….), we had to hope it came up on the radio and also hope we had a blank tape in the tape deck so we could hurry up and press record.

Plus, remember when that guy (or girl) that you really liked would give you a mixtape of a whole bunch of songs they really loved?  Ah, a lost art.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/going-obsolete/

2 comments

  1. Marilyn Armstrong · July 2, 2015

    I have friends who still make mix CDs. And even that’s considered “old technology.” But I like owning my music, not just downloading it. Even if the wifi doesn’t work, my CD player does 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · July 2, 2015

      I’ve long since gotten rid of my CDs. The ones I really liked, I downloaded to my external hard drive and then I traded them in for some cash. The only physical media I still own are a few DVDs and my vinyl albums. If I listen to music anymore, it’s either on my laptop or on my record player. I do have a stereo for listening to the radio, but it doesn’t have a tape deck, or else those cassettes I refuse to part ways with would finally get some use! The stereo I’ve had for well over a decade, possibly longer than that. I don’t really need it, because radio stations stream online, particularly the ones I listen to (local and NPR), but I like having that maybe-antiquated looking monstrosity on my bookshelf.

      Like

Tell me what you think!

