Isn’t *My* Face Red

I can’t remember the last time I was well and truly embarrassed, probably because I so seldom take risks, the opportunity for humiliation is very low.  I fully admit I’m a complete pussy when it comes to many things, so I tend to be the kind of person that  hangs back and lets other people be embarrassed by failure, rather than myself.  That said, I don’t deal with embarrassment very well, I never have.  I basically want to crawl into a hole in the Earth and cover myself over with the dirt, because I can’t stand for people to look at me.  I just know, without having to see them or hear them, that they’re talking shit about me, whether in their own heads, to themselves, or to someone else.  It makes me sick to my stomach, and I need to remove myself as quickly as possible from that situation lest there be an involuntary personal protein spill* all over the floor.  I wish I had the aplomb other people do to just brush it off and act like it was no big deal, but sadly, I lack that.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/isnt-your-face-red/

*I stole this from the late George Carlin.  He had a bit about how words/phrases have evolved over time to be completely unrecognizable, and he then asked what was next, listing a few more words/phrases that people would no doubt insist be changed.  Vomiting was one of them, and that was the guess he came up with.

One comment

  1. lifelessons · August 3, 2015

    I can only remember one really embarrassing tale I haven’t already told and that is so embarrassing that I would never tell it except to close friends after two margaritas! Instead I am publishing a tongue-in-cheek revenge poem–One way to deal with a range of emotions including embarrassment. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/08/03/charmed/

    Like

Tell me what you think!

