Daily Ritual

One thing I do every day, without fail, is get up at 6 a.m.  Doesn’t matter if it’s a holiday, if it’s the weekend, if it’s my birthday. I’m up at 6 a.m.  My alarm clock set to NPR goes off, and my day begins.  It started about a couple of years ago.  I used to get up at around 7:30 on weekdays and 10:00 on weekends, but as we sit down to lunch on the weekends at 11:00 or 11:30, it wasn’t giving me much time to wake up, get some breakfast, and let it digest before sitting down to eat again.  So, I pushed it back to 9:00.  Then 8:30.  Then 8:00.  After a while, I just started getting up at 6 o’clock every day of the week, and I’ve been doing it ever since.  I know my dog appreciates it, because he goes when my dad gets up, but by the time I get up, he’s really got to go, so not only does getting up early help me feel refreshed and useful throughout the day, it also allows my dog a chance to take a walk and pee on every blade of grass he sniffs as we walk past.  I usually go downstairs about 6:45, walk him, then come back in and have breakfast.  I can’t speak to what would happen if I didn’t do it, because I’ve always done it, and the option is not there for me to not do it.  I’m sure if push came to shove, my parents could take the dog out, but why should they have to?  I rather enjoy it, particularly in the fall/winter when it’s still dark out at that hour.  The sky is beautiful where I live, and when it’s that crystal clear and dark, you feel like you can see for miles and miles.  It’s also nice in the early spring and summer, when you’re just catching the sunrise.  It’s starting to stay darker in the morning now, so I’m well inside before the sun starts coming up, but still.  It’s a nice sight.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/daily-ritual/

Tell me what you think!

