Loyalty has limits.

I think I would do just about anything for a loved one, except break the law.  That includes sheltering them if they’re on the run for something and lying to the police about what, if anything, I know.  I know that will rankle some people, particularly those that feel blood is thicker than water, but I’m sorry, if you come to me and confess you’ve committed a crime — let’s say murder — you can’t possibly expect me to keep my mouth shut about that.  The family of your victim deserves justice, and that won’t happen if I pretend I didn’t hear what you just told me.  What if it was a member of our family that was killed, and someone out there knew the truth but didn’t say anything because the perpetrator was a loved one?  Can you imagine the pain and heartache we’d be going through, wondering why that person wouldn’t say something?  You have to draw the line somewhere or else you’re setting yourself up for a whole lot of trouble in the end.

Yeah, no.  This doesn’t mean I don’t do for the people I care about, because I do.  As I said, I’ll do just about anything for someone.  I’m a very loving, loyal friend/family member, but I’m not going to prove that loyalty by doing something illegal or immoral, just because society thinks that I should.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/take-me-to-the-moon/

5 comments

  1. rehmanjafar · September 19, 2015

    Nice one but I was wondering – You see movies a lot? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · September 20, 2015

      No, not really. So few interest me anymore. The last movie I saw in theaters was Lincoln, and that was back in 2012.

      Like

  2. Jackie · September 19, 2015

    I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiments. I refuse to enable someone I love destroy their life whether it be by doing drugs or criminal activity. You are totally loving them by turning them in or phoning the cops.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. lifelessons · September 19, 2015

    Loyalty is such a unique concept. We all define it slightly (or majorly) differently. Top and foremost, we have to be loyal to our own beliefs…and this is what you are saying as well, I think. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/09/19/to-the-moon-alice/

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

