When Childhood Ends

The best I can come to fulfilling this prompt is talking about the fact that I never really had a “childhood” in the way that a lot of people I went to school with did.  I didn’t have any friends growing up.  I never went to slumber parties or birthday parties, I wasn’t invited over to anyone’s house to play.  For the first 5 ½ years of my life, I was an only child.  Then, after my sister was born, I couldn’t exactly play with her, she was too young.  The age difference between us didn’t really cease being problem, in the sense that we could start doing things together and not have it be awkward, until she turned 18.  I had friends in high school and college, some of whom I still talk to now, but I really was more like a mini-adult as a child than I was an actual kid. I spent more time talking to my teachers than I did my classmates, I had my nose in a book whenever I wasn’t sleeping, eating, or watching TV, and even as a teenager, I didn’t have any stereotypically “teenage/childhood” problems like acne or peer pressure.  It feels weird to say it, because I’m by no means suggesting I was miserable, because I really wasn’t.  Sure, I would have liked some friends and would have liked being invited to parties, but looking back, I was far more content with it than maybe some other person might have been.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/when-childhood-ends/

3 comments

  1. emmalmoore · September 27, 2015

    I can relate.

    Like

  2. mukul chand · September 27, 2015

    Wonderful Post.

    Like

  3. Eric Odegard · September 27, 2015

    Thank you for sharing

    Like

Tell me what you think!

