Good comedy sometimes requires offending people.

As a fan of comedians like George Carlin and Lenny Bruce, two men definitely not known for never crossing the line, it’s kind of difficult to say that some things are off-limits or should never be joked about.  Carlin once made a comment that even rape could be funny, and used the example of Elmer Fudd raping Porky Pig.  I think the whole point of comedy is to push buttons and say the things that all the rest of us can’t or won’t say.  I was reading an article not long ago about how comedians like Jerry Seinfeld, Chris Rock, and even Larry the Cable Guy won’t play college campuses anymore because they’ve become too politically correct, and the students are too offended by every little “microaggression” that could possibly exist.  College campuses used to be the one place where you could hear politically incorrect or divisive speech, and know that a dialogue would happen afterward, but now, everyone is triggered by everything, and everyone is offended by everything.

Stephen Fry had a great comment about that phrase, “I’m offended” — “It’s now very common to hear people say, “I’m rather offended by that,” as if that gives them certain rights.  It’s no more than a whine.  It has no meaning, it has no purpose, it has no reason to be respected as a phrase.  “I’m offended by that.”  Well, so fucking what?”

I think he has a point.  I think people have every right to be offended by something, but I also don’t think everyone else needs to care.  I’m overweight; I don’t get offended by fat jokes, and I don’t want other people being offended on my behalf.  If I were to be offended by them, I wouldn’t expect everyone else to grovel and apologize to me for it.  It’s my problem, so I should be the one to deal with it.  There are a lot of things I don’t find funny, like rape, toilet humor, violence, abuse….if other people find jokes about those things hilarious, then that’s them.  It’s not my job or my place to judge them for it.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/too-soon/

4 comments

  1. Frances D · October 4, 2015

    Your’s was the second post I read on the list. The first one I chose had nothing to do with the prompt – I hate that!
    I was a big fan of Carlin – EVERYTHING that man said me laugh. I am also overweight, and fat jokes make me laugh too. Really enjoyed your post. You are spot on.

    Like

  2. luckyjc007 · October 4, 2015

    Frankly, I’m sick of political correctness! For many, many, years we did just fine with the way we talked and joked, now you can’t even hardly speak about anything without getting flack from someone. You just can’t please everyone and people need to grow up and face the world ….it is what it is, so get over it!

    Like

  3. anthonyburkegb · October 4, 2015

    Well put! I like the Stephen Fry quote.

    Like

  4. Emine · October 5, 2015

    If you like George Carlin, check out Bill Hicks! Similar time and very similar attitudes, check him out! You will not regret it!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

