Good taste prevailed.

I grew up listening to the music my parents listened to when they were in their 20s and early 30s.  So, what today people would call “oldies” or “classic rock.”  I also listened to a lot of Singers & Standards-type music as well, like Frank Sinatra, Peggy Lee, Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughn, Dean Martin, etc., not to mention Jazz artists like Dave Brubeck and Miles Davis.  As a result, my tastes in music have always skewed much older than what people my age tended to listen to, starting from when I was a child all the way to now.  There were three stations in Chicago that I listened to all the time:  WJJD, which aired the Singers/Standards music; WJMK, which aired the oldies music; and WLUP, which aired the classic rock.  When WJJD went away while I was in high school, I was gutted.  It was the only station that I could find that played that kind of music, and my dad didn’t have the collection of CDs in that vein that he does now, so I was kind of stuck.  Now there’s Internet radio, so I can listen to all of the Frank Sinatra I can handle, but back then, it really sucked.

While other girls my age were drooling over Justin Timberlake and trying to dress like Britney Spears, I was listening to Kind of Blue and reading novels.  To this day, I’d much rather listen to oldies/classic rock/jazz than whatever passes for pop music, if only because I feel like I’m too old to really get any enjoyment out of it.  There are a few contemporary artists whose material I enjoy, like Adele, but that’s because she skews more toward the kind of music I like listening to, so it’s a comfortable bridge.  Now, on that note, here is Kind of Blue, because I feel everyone should listen to it at least once in their lives.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/papa-loves-mambo/

2 comments

  1. spearfruit · October 7, 2015

    I totally agree with your choice of music – all good artists of that time. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

