Finally! A prompt I can answer! Superfluous exclamation points!

Whew.  I was beginning to think I was never going to be able to answer a Daily Prompt again.  On the subject of punctuation, I have to say I’m rather fastidious about it.  I’m fastidious about all things grammatical, if only because one of my biggest pet peeves in all the world is incoherent babble.  I see it most often online, sometimes in text messages.  The biggest two culprits I’ve found are Twitter and e-mail.  I don’t know what it is that keeps people from spelling words properly or using proper punctuation, but there are times I’d like to reach through the screen and slap them because I can’t understand a word they’re saying.  Now, here is where I’m going to lose a lot of people I think — I am a proponent of the Oxford comma.  What is the Oxford comma, you ask?  Well, it’s when you put a comma after the last item in a list, before the word “and.”  I’ll give you an example:

“Shelly, Karen, and Beth are going to the movies.”

Most people are taught not to put a comma after Karen, just one after Shelly.  Well, not me.  The reason being is sometimes it’s necessary to differentiate between a group of people and specific people.  The well known example is this:  “We invited the strippers, JFK, and Stalin to the party.”  Without the Oxford comma, the sentence reads thusly:  “We invited the strippers, JFK and Stalin to the party.”  It makes it sound like the strippers are JFK and Stalin, which while admittedly hilarious, is incorrect.  JFK and Stalin are merely invitees to the party along with the strippers, not the strippers themselves.  The lack of a comma after JFK makes the meaning of the sentence ambiguous.

So, yeah.  That’s my punctuation quirk.  I rally in support of the Oxford comma. I think it looks neater and cleaner.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-the-dots/

8 comments

  1. Thoughts Uncluttered · October 21, 2015

    “but there are times I’d like to reach through the screen and slap them because I can’t understand a word they’re saying” – That was hilarious! 😀
    I don’t know what you will do the people who use #hashtags at every second word they use in a sentence (if one can call is a ‘sentence’), having no clue what hashtags are meant for.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · October 21, 2015

      Oh, I hate that. I was responding to a post on a message board just earlier today, and someone actually said, as part of their response, “You just don’t understand what it means to be young, #millennialproblems.”

      I wanted to respond with “#hashtagsdontworkthatway #thisisnttwitter #fuckingstopit”.

      Like

      • Thoughts Uncluttered · October 22, 2015

        ‪”#‎Chocolate‬#Cake ‪#‎baked‬ by me today for my one n only brother ‪#‎Amit‬ Santosh Panda#”

        That is a Facebook update by a lady who thinks it is her moral duty to decorate the words like that before she posts them. And when it is a name she had to mention, she is generous enough to spare two #s to be installed on both the sides as a mark of extra respect!

        Like

  2. Pelican1 · October 21, 2015

    Oxford Comma? This has a name? It drives me absolutely batty when writers do not use Oxford commas for the reasons you cite above.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · October 21, 2015

      Yes! It has a name! Exclamation points! I was taught to use it in college, after not being taught to use it throughout grammar school and high school. For me, it makes sentences more coherent and easier to read.

      Like

  3. rogershipp · October 21, 2015

    Loved your intensity!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vonita · October 21, 2015

    Good example!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Marigold blooms... · October 8

    Love the Oxford comma. Learned it in elementary school, but apparently it’s verboten now. I still do it anyway!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

