Pride and Joy

Unfortunately, my response isn’t entirely sentimental, as I don’t have any family heirlooms or photos or anything.  I do have a necklace that used to belong to my grandmother, which I received after she died because it was pearls and that’s my birthstone, but aside from that, my two most prized possessions are my record player and my computer.  I chose my computer because without it I’m literally cut off from the outside world.  I don’t have any friends that live in the state I do, and I really don’t use my cell phone all that much, so it’s the only way I can talk to people, look for work, watch TV, listen to music, blog, you name it.  If something ever happened to it, I’d think I’d have a psychotic episode.  My record player was a Christmas present from my parents in 2007, as I’d started collecting vintage vinyl albums, and I wanted a record player I could have in my bedroom so I wouldn’t have to schlep downstairs to use my father’s turntable in the living room.  If the house caught fire, I’d lug that thing downstairs with as many of my albums as I could stack on top because a couple of them cost me mucho dinero, and I’m not in a position to replace them right now.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/pride-and-joy/

One comment

  1. rogershipp · October 25, 2015

    I love the vinyl also… So many memories in those oldies!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

