Please Don’t Go, Girl

If you know me, even passably well, then you know that my taste in music tends to run toward classic rock, jazz, and Singers & Standards (think Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Peggy Lee, Jo Stafford, Rosemary Clooney).  That being said, I have a real soft spot for the cheesy, saccharine pop of the late 80s and early 90s that I grew up listening to on Top 40 radio as a kid.  It’s wrong to like this shit, but I do.  My favorite of these cheesy, saccharine pop songs?  This —

I know.  I should be embarrassed to enjoy listening to them as much as I do Miles Davis or Dave Brubeck, but I can’t help it.  It’s just so good.  Not to mention, I had a massive, MASSIVE crush on Jordan Knight back then, and I’d have listened to them sing a Chinese takeaway menu if he appeared in it anywhere.  That’s why I don’t laugh at people who say they enjoy listening to stuff like Debbie Gibson or Hanson or NSYNC (I could fill about five posts just on my obsession with them when I was a teenager.) because I’ve been there myself.

Now, if you say you listen to Justin Bieber, I’m going to have to smack you.  There’s guilty pleasures and there’s mental illness.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/no-apologies/

Tell me what you think!

