Reality, meet fantasy.

When I was 10 years old, I wanted to be a doctor.  I loved watching medical shows on TV, I thought doctors and nurses were just the coolest, and I wanted to walk around all day in a lab coat with my name on it, making tons of money.  I even went to college initially to be a nurse, but when my family left Chicago for Georgia, I changed my major to Business with a  concentration in Marketing.  Right now I’m out of work, but my last job was data entry/administrative stuff.  Basically, as far from medicine as can happen.

Am I happy about that?  I don’t know.  I don’t think I would have made a good doctor, and that’s not a job you want to be uncomfortable doing or unsure of yourself about.  People’s lives are at stake, and they and their families are putting their faith/trust in you to do a good job and do a competent job.  In that sense, I’m glad I’m not in that field.  On the other hand, it’s a far more stable job than what I ended up majoring in, and if I’d stuck with nursing at least, I’d be able to find work nearly anywhere.  Which is the downside to my decision.  I can’t go back and undo it, but if I could, I probably would.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/ballerina-fireman-astronaut-movie-star/

Tell me what you think!

