I’ve only got two arms, people.

It always amuses me when people get offended/annoyed at not being helped by a stranger when out in public.  I get that decency and respect for your fellow man should make you want to do it, and 99% of the time, if I can help you, I will.  However, I’m reminded of a time when I didn’t help someone and their subsequent reaction to it.

I was at the mall, this was several years ago, but I was at the mall, walking toward our car (I was there with my family.).  I had several shopping bags in each hand, plus a drink from Gloria Jean’s (Their Cookies ‘n Cream Chiller is TO DIE FOR.), so I had to use my ass to open the door to go outside.  This woman was walking toward the doors as I was leaving, and when I let the door shut behind me, she gave me a dirty look and said, “Weren’t you raised with any manners?”  I stared at her for a moment, then lifted my arms to show I was loaded down with bags and a coffee drink, so I didn’t have any hands available to hold the door open for her, but it didn’t seem to faze her much.  She gave me a rather withering expression, then said I was lazy.  Thankfully, someone that was coming up behind her told her to quit being a bitch and just open the door herself, and while I normally would not condone the calling of a woman a “bitch,” in this case it was earned.

As I said, 99 times out of 100, I’d have held the door open for that woman so she could walk inside, but this one time I didn’t have the faculties to do so, and in her eyes, that made me a lazy, rude piece of work.  C’est la vie.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sorry-im-busy/

One comment

  1. Em · December 17, 2015

    Hi, I tagged and nominated you in my One Lovely Blogger Award 🙂 Send me a link if you decide to post your response 😀 p.s I really enjoy your blog!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

