Used to be one, now I’m the other.

Maybe 10 years ago or so, when I was in my early 20s, I could routinely stay up until four or five in the morning, get up at eight, and be ready to start my day.  In fact, the day my sister graduated from high school, I’d been up until 5:30 that morning, goofing off on the Internet, knowing I had to be up at 7:30 to ready for the ceremony.  How I managed to not pass out in the middle of it, I’ll never know.  I’d usually sleep until noon, then start the whole cycle all over again.

Now that I’m in my early 30s, it’s a much different story.  I’m in bed by 9:30, 10:00…and I get up at 6 a.m. on the dot every morning.  Staying up until 5:30 a.m. would probably incapacitate me now if I tried it.  I can’t believe how lazy and unmotivated I was.  Now, sleeping until even 6:30 makes me think I’m wasting part of my day.  I suppose that would make me an early bird now, which I frankly prefer much better over the alternative.  There’s nothing going on at 3 a.m. that I need concern myself with.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/because-the-night/

Tell me what you think!

