Proudly Faithless.

Religion isn’t for me.  It never has been.  I got dragged to church as a kid, and later attended a Catholic high school because that’s where my parents thought I’d get the best education; they were right about that, because I did.  However, religion has always been a whole lot of nonsense to me.  I just have no use for it.  I don’t begrudge others their beliefs, so as Elton John and John Lennon once said, “Whatever gets you through the night, it’s alright, it’s alright.”

One thing I don’t do often is discuss religion (like politics) with people I don’t know well, as it can often lead to incredible disagreements that have no business occurring.  I don’t even really like discussing religion and politics with people I do know, only because it can cause a massive falling out, and no one wants to lose a friend over something so trivial.  It’s much easier to keep one’s opinions on those topics to oneself unless otherwise asked.

As for what I personally believe, I believe, much like Carl Sagan said, we’re all made of starstuff.  Whatever elements and atoms and ingredients make up the stars and planets and comets and asteroids and meteors that float in the endless void above us, are also what make us up.  When the Big Bang happened and things began coalescing into what became what we are now, so did the possibility of humanity.  I also believe that when we die, those atoms and molecules and ingredients go back to the cosmos, and we become a star.  That way, our essence returns to whence we came.  It’s comforting for me to know that people I love and care about are still where I can see them, just in a different way.  You can also think about the cosmos as a giant lending library, and all of humanity as many, many books.  When we die, we return to the library.  It’s a nice thought, in any event.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unfaithful/

Tell me what you think!

