When the Going Gets Tough…

I’ve stopped a couple of things cold turkey; soda and Starbucks.  With the soda, I used to drink sometimes six cans or three 16 oz. bottles a day.  It was all Diet Pepsi or Diet Coke or Diet Dr. Pepper, but what you lack in calories, you’re making up for in sugar, which isn’t good for you at all….so I just quit.  I stopped drinking it.  I didn’t suffer any withdrawal symptoms like headaches or irritability or trouble sleeping, thankfully.  Do I miss it?  Sometimes.  A nice cold Pepsi with a hamburger and fries always sounds good, but I don’t need it.  I don’t need the hamburger and fries either, come to think of it.

With Starbucks, I was getting a venti Mocha Frappuccino every Friday.  I had a little ritual I’d do every week; I’d get my drink, set up Google Earth, put on some music, and that’s how I’d spend my Friday nights.  I really do miss it, but I miss the ritual of it more than the actual drink.  I never used to have any problems with it whatsoever, then out of the blue at the end of July, they started making me sick.  I’d get this intense pain in my upper stomach, right about where my gallbladder is, and at first I thought it was because I was getting too many extra shots of mocha syrup in it, so I started ordering it basic, with no extra frills, and it still happened.  Then I ordered the next size down, the grande, and it still happened.  I decided I needed to stop drinking it.  I wasn’t enjoying it anymore.  I was terrified with every sip, that something was going to happen, and if something isn’t fun anymore, it’s not worth it anymore.

I’ve replaced both with flavored sparkling water.  It satisfies my urge to have something carbonated, and there’s no sugar in it, but it’s still sweet, so it satisfies my sweet tooth at the same time.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/happy-endings/

5 comments

  1. Jim Kane · January 4, 2016

    Wow, cold turkey… I have decaffeinated myself to about a 90% level and I need to make other such changes as well. Congrats! Jim

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · January 7, 2016

      The only caffeine I used to drink was in my weekly Starbucks. The soda I drank, no matter the brand, was always caffeine-free. I don’t miss that either. I’m that weird person that never needed any coffee or soda to wake up of a morning. My alarm goes off at 6 a.m, and I’m dressed and out the door before 7.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Vonita · January 5, 2016

    I drink carbonated water instead of soda, but I have the unflavored one so there’s no sweetener in it. It’s taking a while but I’m getting used to the taste.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · January 7, 2016

      I tried the unflavored soda water, but I just couldn’t get used to the taste. I don’t drink a lot of the flavored water, a 1-liter bottle lasts me two to three days, so I’m not overdoing it. At least I hope I’m not.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ngobesing Romanus · January 5, 2016

    It’s a great thing to stop what we are used to and like. Bravo!!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

