Thanatophobia.

Death, much like taxes, is one of those things that will happen to all of us at some point in our existence, and I’ve always been curious as to how many people would say they’re scared of death or scared of dying.  I’ve heard people say there’s no point in being afraid of death, we’re all going to die, so the best thing to do is get used to the idea, but I don’t know how true that is for me.  I don’t want to die.  Well, no one does, but the thought of actually dying sometimes causes me to have a panic attack.  My life isn’t great, what with being unemployed, in need of medical care I can’t afford, and wearing clothes that are almost falling apart because they’re eight years old….however I still want to get up in the morning.  I still want to see another sunrise and another sunset, I still want to talk to my friends and spend time with my family.   What scares me most about death is NOT waking up each morning, NOT seeing another sunrise and sunset, NOT talking to my friends or spending time with my family.

I’ve also heard other people say that a fear of death is the result of not being religious, because if you’re afraid to die, you’re afraid to be proved wrong when you wind up in front of some tall gates with an old dude and a book looking at you.  I personally find that argument specious at best.  I’m an atheist and very comfortable with that — I’m not on the fence.  I don’t believe in “God,” and I don’t believe there’s any evidence that “God” exists.  When I die, I’m going to be dead.  That’s it.  My fear of death is not tied to that, it has nothing to do with it.  If I was afraid I might be proved wrong one day, I wouldn’t be an atheist, I’d be an agnostic.  I don’t think a Christian person who is afraid of death is only afraid because they might discover there’s no heaven after all.

So, valued readers, are you afraid of death?  If you’re not, why do you think other people are?  If you are, why?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/inevitable/

One comment

  1. thinkinkadia · February 23

    It’s a tough one. But as an atheist, it’s even simpler to see that at one point one is. And other, isn’t.
    I get peace from knowing that I will be back to nature, making room for others. Matter stays around in one form or another.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

