Beatles vs. Stones

 

Since the topic for today is “Help,” and Help was a #1 single for the Fab Four, I thought it would be fun to revisit the ultimate baby boomer topic, although I’m not a baby boomer myself — who was better, the Beatles or the Rolling Stones?  Now, I’m going to stick with the year 1965, which is when Help was released, and focus on the songs both groups put out that year.  First up, The Beatles:

  • Eight Days a Week
  • Ticket to Ride
  • Rock and Roll Music
  • No Reply
  • Help!
  • Yesterday
  • I’ll Follow the Sun
  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Boys
  • We Can Work It Out/Day Tripper (Double A-side)

Now, onto the Stones:

  • Route 66
  • Under the Boardwalk
  • The Last Time
  • Play With Fire
  • (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  • Get Off My Cloud
  • As Tears Go By

The Beatles win in terms of overall product, releasing more songs in that calendar year, but is Satisfaction by itself better than all those Beatles songs?  I say maybe.  I love Ticket to Ride/No Reply/We Can Work It Out/Day Tripper…..but I also really love Satisfaction.  Hmm.  What say you folk?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/help/

6 comments

  1. Beatles lyrics · March 24, 2016

    The Beatles great group, timeless songs

    Like

  2. Suze · March 24, 2016

    I think that comparing the two groups is similar to apples and oranges. The Beatles style was influenced by the German underground rock groups at the time and the stones were strictly the English (think Liverpool) groups. And honestly, is there a better song than Yesterday or I’ll follow the Sun?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth · March 24, 2016

      Yesterday is like Hey Jude — I used to love it, then I heard it one time too many, now I don’t want to listen to it ever again. It’s not a bad song, just way, way, way overplayed. I’ll Follow the Sun is beautiful, but I prefer Here Comes the Sun if we’re talking about songs in that vein. George Harrison was underrated as a writer and vocalist in that band.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lauren · March 24, 2016

    the beatles but I am bias as I have been playing beatles rock band lately on the drums. 😁

    Like

  4. It’s a tie for me, like them both but for different reasons. Cop-out to really answering I know but truly can’t pick one over the other. Marianne

    Like

  5. Vonita · March 24, 2016

    When I read your list before reading your comments, my first thought was Satisfaction wins for the Stones 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think!

