When you believe in things you don’t understand.

I’m not a superstitious person.  I don’t think opening an umbrella indoors is bad luck, the same as I don’t think walking underneath a ladder or letting a black cat cross your path will do the same either.  I have two black cats, so I’d be in a world of trouble if it was.  I don’t mind superstitious people, everyone has little quirks or things they do/believe to get them through the day, so if you think stepping on a crack in the sidewalk will cripple your mother, for God’s sake, don’t step on the crack.  Don’t wear black on Friday the 13th, don’t break any mirrors, throw salt over your left shoulder if you spill any, and cross yourself whenever you pass a church.  Do you, boo.  Do you.

You know, I take one thing back.  I am superstitious about one thing — if a pitcher is throwing a perfect game or a no-hitter….DON’T TALK ABOUT IT.  DON’T SAY IT.  DON’T EVEN HINT AT IT.  I expect plenty of baseball fans to comment below about how ridiculous that is and how fans talking about the in-progress perfecto isn’t going to make the pitcher suddenly cough up a meatball, but it’s just one of those things that I can’t abide, no matter how dumb it sounds.  I know Vin Scully does it all the time, and if St. Scully does it who am I to say otherwise, but no one is going to yell at Vin for saying so-and-so on the Dodgers is throwing a perfect game/no hitter.  I’ll yell at you if YOU do it, though.  Oh, and because it’s Friday…enjoy.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/superstition/

4 comments

  1. letahawk · April 8, 2016

    I just remembered one I heard as a child–Hold your breath when you pass a cemetery so that the wandering spirits can’t be breathed in. Then later, I read a funny version of that: Hold your breath when you pass a cemetery, because it’s rude to breathe in front of those who can’t.

    Like

    • Beth · April 10, 2016

      LOL. I’ve never heard either of those before, but I can see how they might have got started. It’s probably a good idea to not let the wandering spirit of some long-dead murderer get absorbed into your body. Who knows what’ll happen?

      Like

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 8 – “Vulnerable Delight” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)
  3. kurtislunz · August 17, 2016

    I love that song! Also, to go along with the pitcher statement, that reminds me of a part of the movie Pulp Fiction. They get the Wolf to come up with a plan to get them out of their situation. Jules and Vincent begin to get a little celebratory when they begin to see how sharp the Wolf really is. Then, the Wolf tells them (in a more street way), let’s not start celebrating just yet.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

