Quiet, please.

I’m very particular about not just when I go to bed, but what the conditions are like in my bedroom to allow me to sleep well.  For starters, it must be pitch black.  If I can see my hand in front of my face, it’s not dark enough.  Next, it has to be chilly.  Not freezing cold, but cool.  I can’t sleep if I’m even a touch warm.  In the winter, I’ll go so far as to crack a window, the one not near my bed, just so the room doesn’t get too warm.  Lastly, it has to be quiet.  The only noise I can tolerate is what comes from my two oscillating fans.  Anything louder than that, and I just can’t fall asleep.  It wasn’t always like that, though.  I’m from Chicago, and Chicago is not dead quiet at night.  There’s all kinds of noise going on outside, from sirens to cars to people shouting….whatever.  When we moved to Georgia, we were living in a suburb, in a subdivision, and there were woods behind the house.  It was almost preternaturally calm, and it was unnerving to try and sleep at first.  Then I got used to it.  If I had to get used to noise again, it might take a while.

As for when I go to bed every night, it’s always between 9:30 and 10:00.  I get up at 6 o’clock every morning, and I need at least 7-8 hours of sleep or else I’m useless the next day.  I’d love to sleep later, but I just can’t.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/bedtime/

Tell me what you think!

